Tahune Forest Air Walk, Huon Jet and plenty of sunshine
After leaving Cockle Creek on Saturday morning we drove through Geeveston to travel the 29km to the Tahune Forest Airwalk. On the way, we stopped at the Lookin Lookout, a rather unusual display of old forestry equipment set up so that people could be on the lookout for items such as steel shovels etc between the two displays of an old steam engine and a train that ran its steel wheels along very straight logs.
Sunday morning delivered fine weather and sunshine at the Tahune Forest Airwalk. We woke early as we stayed the night at the centre and went on the Huon Trail walk. On the way we stopped at the ruins of McPartlans House. He was a policeman who hunted down escapee convicts and also kept order in the forestry and mining camps.
Further on the walk we came to the Suspension Bridges across the Huon River.
When the centre opened at 9.00am, we took the trail up to the Tahune Airwalk. Tahune Airwalk is a Forestry Tasmania-owned and operated tourist attraction in Tasmania. Located 70 km south of the capital Hobart in the Huon Valley on the Huon River banks, the airwalk offers an aerial view of the state's southern forests.The treetop walk overlooks the Huon River. The swinging bridges crosses the Huon River.
The walkway is a level steel structure that is suspended over the treetops, as high as 45 metres in places. It is 620 metres long, 1.6 kilometres including the access paths and 112 steps. and is a level structure with a steel walkway. The cantilever on the end holds 10 tonnes which is equivalent to 120 crowded people or ten baby elephants.
We left the Tahune Forest via Geeveston and drove the 50km to Huonville on the Huon River. We spent considerable time at the car wash getting the Cruiser and Quantum back to shiny newness,
On Monday morning we went on the Huon Jet Boat. The boats are powered by Marinised 5.7 litre fuel injected V8 Chevrolet engines which drive a 8 inch Hamilton Jet water jet unit. This combination can propel the loaded vessel along at speeds of up to 80 kph in water only 100mm deep and allow the vessel to be turned in its own length.
Our ride 12km up the river saw the boat weaving in and out fallen logs and forest canopy overhanging the banks. There are stands of Huon pines along the banks. We turned around near a little township called Glen Huon. Up and down the river we had the thrill of 360 degree turns at high speed. Down near the bridge in Huonville we stopped to see an Eastern Osprey up in the tallest branches.
Tuesday morning we left Huonville for Bruny Island. We took the long way around through the coastline Cygnet and stopped at a beautiful beach called Verona Sands.
Our camp for the night was to be on the Gordon foreshore fronting the D'Entrecasteau Passage. At the last minute we decided to catch the ferry across at Kettering. The Murambeena is the only way to travel by vehicle to the island. When we arrived we stopped at the get Schucked Oyster Farm ($8 a dozen for live oysters or $13 a dozen for Schucked oysters - I now have a proper shucking knife to use instead of my trusty Leatherman) and the Bruny Island Cheese Company.
We stayed at the Neck Campground for three nights. This is a beautiful area and it was even better when it wasn't raining. A school or church camping group was learning to surf on the Neck Beach.
On our last day we drove down to Adventure Bay to see the Captain Cook Monument. Captain James Cook landed here in the Resolution on 26 January 1777. Captain Furneaux also landed here 4 years earlier in 1773 but did not claim the land in the name of the French King.
We visited the little townships of Alonnah and Lunnawanna and then drove the reasonable gravel roads down to Cape Bruny to the National Park and the Lighthouse. The lighthouse was built by convicts in 1827 and was decommissioned in 1996.
Before we left the island we had to go past the get Shucked Oyster Farm again so we replenished the oysters again.
We drove back to Hobart through beautiful little towns like Snug and then travelled to a place called Campania just north of Richmond for our next camp. This little place is in the Coal River Valley noted for its Wineries, vineyards, AND CHERRIES!!!!