Return to Launceston
15.11.2013 25 °C
Sunday morning turned out to be a day of beautiful weather in Launceston. We left our camp at Chain of Lagoons the day before as we were running low on power and the weather had taken a turn for worse with constant showers and being cold and wet.
We were due to return to Launceston the day after as Colleen had a dental appointment on the Tuesday and we both wanted to help Paul with preparing his house for sale .A few solid days with "karchering" the house and pathways and being quite brutal in terms of culling excess furniture and the property looked a real treat.
We did have a little time to admire the many beautiful examples of early 1800s architecture around Launceston. Launceston is located on the beautiful Tamar River in northern Tasmania. It's the third oldest city in Australia and has retained much of it stunning architectural heritage.
Anaethetist - Dr William Pugh, first person to use anaesthetics in the Southern Hemisphere.
William Russ Pugh (1805-1897), medical practitioner, arrived in Hobart Town in the Derwent in December 1835, and reputedly walked soon after to Launceston, where the following May he married a fellow passenger Cornelia Ann, the daughter of G. A. Kirton, a London solicitor.
William Russ Pugh was credited with administering the first surgical anaesthetic in the southern hemisphere. Pugh received instruction in Edinburgh and Dublin, and in 1835 set up practice in Launceston. An enthusiastic experimenter, he produced coal gas to light his house, and the ether for his anaesthetics. On 7 June 1847 he performed two operations at St John's Hospital, removing a tumour from a woman's jaw and cataracts from a man, under ether anaesthesia. That day he wrote an account of the procedures for the Australian Medical Journal.
The picture below show Dr Pugh's former residence.
Boag's Brewery (J. Boag & Son) is an Australian brewery company founded in 1883 by James Boag and his son, also named James, in Launceston, Tasmania. It is now owned by Lion Nathan Ltd, a Trans-Tasman subsidiary company of Japanese beverage conglomerate, Kirin. All of the company's beers are produced in Launceston.
Old Post Office
The clock tower is one of the most photographed buildings in the city, and people spoke freely of their affection for it, and its importance to the city.
After the Launceston General Post Office was built in 1889, a group of residents formed The Launceston Clock and Chimes Committee in 1906 to raise funds to extend the tower's height, and install the clock and chimes.
Central Launceston has many old buildings, in particular bank buildings, which have been given a new lease of life as commercial premises.
Albert Hall and the Gatekeepers Cottage
The Albert Hall is a convention centre in Launceston, Tasmania in the style of high Victorian architecture, first opened as the main structure for the Tasmanian Industrial exhibition which ran from 25 November 1891 to 22 March 1892.
Next to Albert Hall is Kings Bridge Cottage which is nestled on the edge of a 200 million year old dolerite cliff, overlooking the South Esk River. The cottage was built in the 1890s to house the gatekeeper for the Reserve.
The Cataract Gorge Reserve covers 192 hectares and is an inspiring place for tourists, artists, nature lovers and the local community. More than 500,000 people visit the iconic location each year to swim, walk, kayak, dine and relax. It has an abundance of flora and fauna, with 25 threatened flora species and seven threatened fauna species. Amazingly, the Gorge is less than one kilometre from the city centre.
Launceston is located on the beautiful Tamar River in northern Tasmania. It's the third oldest city in Australia and has retained much of it stunning architectural heritage.
The Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery (QVMAG) has a part of the museum located at the Inveresk Precinct. Its other site is at Royal Park and when combined it becomes the largest museum in Australia located out of a capital city. It includes a working planetarium and displays related to Launceston's industrial environments and railway workshops.
Friday morning we had finished with tasks in Launceston. We headed north towards Devonport and stopped for an early lunch at the Bakery Café at Elizabeth Town.
We took the Bass highway west along the north coast to Burnie, Wynyard and Stanley. Table Cape is 5km west of Wynyard and is known for the rolling fields of tulips. We saw a few end of season tulips only but the view was worth the visit.
We shad a brief stop at Stanley to take some pictures of The Nut.
We looked at the weather forecasts and it seemed the west coast might have a few days of sunshine so we went to Smithton and then on to Arthur River. We planned to take the gravel road down through the Tarkine but this was not to be. There had been a landslip and the road will be closed for about five months.
We stayed at Peppermint Campground in Arthur River. This was a grassy sheltered place right in the middle of this township. We drove to the Edge of the World Lookout on the southern side of Arthur River. On Saturday morning we booked to take the river cruise on the MV George Robinson.
This morning (Saturday) has been an unbelievably beautiful day starting with a cool morning and some clouds and ending in brilliant sunshine in the mid twenties. We took the Arthur River cruise - five hours up the river including lunch in the Tarkine forest. The Arthur River is pristine as it has never been logged or dammed and the last hot fire to go through was 650 years ago. It is claimed that the Tarkins is the largest remaining Gondwana type forest left in the world.
The Arthur River is very rich in tannins and this brings out beautiful reflections on the mirror like surface.
in the morning we plan to drive back up through Smithton and then to Burnis and down to the middle of the west coast to Strahan for a few days.