A Travellerspoint blog

Australia

WEEK 8- ARTHUR RIVER, STRAHAN, BOTHWELL, MIDLANDS TAS

Enjoying fine weather on the west coast before heading east

semi-overcast 15 °C

Sunday morning was another beautiful day in Arthur River. We were on the road early and enjoyed the beautiful drive back to Smithton.
Dairying country west of Smithton

Dairying country west of Smithton


Dairying country west of Smithton

Dairying country west of Smithton

We drove east to Burnie and then took the main road down past Cradle Mountain to Strahan. This part of Tasmania relies on logging as the main economic driver. Here are some pictures of the areas.
Taswoods Eucalyptus forests south of Burnie

Taswoods Eucalyptus forests south of Burnie


Taswoods Eucalyptus forests south of Burnie

Taswoods Eucalyptus forests south of Burnie

Zeehan was our lunch stop on Sunday. We had plenty of time to visit the superb West Coast Heritage Centre incorporating the West Coast Pioneers' Museum in the Main Street of Zeehan.
Zeehan School of Mines

Zeehan School of Mines


Zeehan School of Mines and Mettalurgy - 1894-1930

Zeehan School of Mines and Mettalurgy - 1894-1930


Zeehan Gaiety Theatre and Police Station with Court House behind

Zeehan Gaiety Theatre and Police Station with Court House behind


Gaiety Theatre near Zeehan Pioneers Museum

Gaiety Theatre near Zeehan Pioneers Museum


No 8 Krauss Locomotive at Zeehan Pioneers Museum

No 8 Krauss Locomotive at Zeehan Pioneers Museum


Mining machinery at rear of Zeehan Pioneers Museum

Mining machinery at rear of Zeehan Pioneers Museum


Blacksmith's Shop at rear of Zeehan Pioneers Museum

Blacksmith's Shop at rear of Zeehan Pioneers Museum


Beyer-Peacock Locomotive C1 at Zeehan Pioneers Museum

Beyer-Peacock Locomotive C1 at Zeehan Pioneers Museum

King O'Malley, an American, called Zeehan home when he was the Member for West Tasmania. King O'Malley was instrumental in forming "the people's bank", the Commonwealth and in establishing Canberra as the site of the new capital of Australia.
King O'Malley, The West Coast Pioneers Museum

King O'Malley, The West Coast Pioneers Museum

Strahan is 41 km south of Zeehan on the West Coast. Strahan is built on the foreshore of Macquarie Harbour. Macquarie Harbour is a large, shallow, but navigable by shallow draft vessels inlet on the West Coast of Tasmania, Australia. The harbour is named after Scottish Major General Lachlan Macquarie, 5th Governor of New South Wales. The harbour is six times the size of Sydney Harbour And half as big a Port Phillip Bay. Seven large fish farms grow salmon and trout.
View from Railway Station back across to Esplanade, Strahan

View from Railway Station back across to Esplanade, Strahan


Esplanade at Strahan

Esplanade at Strahan


Panorama of Petuna Fish Farm, Macquarie Harbour (4)

Panorama of Petuna Fish Farm, Macquarie Harbour (4)


Petuna Fish Farm, Macquarie Harbour

Petuna Fish Farm, Macquarie Harbour

As Monday was a clear sunny day, we boarded the Lady Jane Franklin 11 for the cruise. Our journey was to take us out to Hell's Gates (the very narrow entrance to Macquarie Harbour) and out into the open sea. The cruise continued on up the Gordon River which empties into Macquarie Harbour. Upstream of the Gordon, it is joined by the Franklin River. We stopped upriver at Heritage Landing.
Esplanade at Strahan

Esplanade at Strahan


David on the Lady Jane Franklin 11

David on the Lady Jane Franklin 11


Sign Franklin - Gordon Wild Rivers NP

Sign Franklin - Gordon Wild Rivers NP


Mouth of Gordon River, Macquarie Harbour

Mouth of Gordon River, Macquarie Harbour


Gordon River

Gordon River


Gordon River

Gordon River


Gordon River

Gordon River


Frenchman's Cap

Frenchman's Cap


Heritage Walk, Gordon River

Heritage Walk, Gordon River


Heritage Walk, Gordon River

Heritage Walk, Gordon River


Heritage Walk, Gordon River

Heritage Walk, Gordon River


Heritage Walk, Gordon River )

Heritage Walk, Gordon River )

After a nice buffet lunch on board the boat as it returned down the Gordon, we stopped off at Sarah Island. The Macquarie Harbour Penal Station was established on Sarah Island, Macquarie Harbour in the former colony of Van Diemen's Land, now Tasmania, Australia, operated between 1822 and 1833. The settlement housed mainly male convicts, with a small number of women. During its 11 years of operation, the penal colony achieved a reputation as one of the harshest penal settlements in the Australian colonies.
Disembarking from  Lady Jane Franklin 11

Disembarking from Lady Jane Franklin 11


Porpoise trailing the Lady Jane Franklin 11 in Macquarie Harbour

Porpoise trailing the Lady Jane Franklin 11 in Macquarie Harbour

The penal station was established as a place of banishment within the Australian colonies. It took the worst convicts and those who had escaped from other settlements. The isolated land was ideally suited for its purpose. It was separated from the mainland by treacherous seas, surrounded by a mountainous wilderness and was hundreds of miles away from the colony's other settled areas. The only seaward access was through a treacherous narrow channel known as Hell's Gates.
Lighthouse at Hell's Gate

Lighthouse at Hell's Gate


Lighthouse at Hell's Gate

Lighthouse at Hell's Gate

Despite its isolated location, a considerable number of convicts attempted to escape from the island. Bushranger Matthew Brady was among a party that successfully escaped to Hobart in 1824 after tying up their overseer and seizing a boat. James Goodwin was pardoned after his 1828 escape and was subsequently employed to make official surveys of the wilderness he had passed through. Sarah Island's most infamous escapee was Alexander Pearce who managed to get away twice. On both occasions, he cannibalized his fellow escapees.
Guide on Sarah Island

Guide on Sarah Island


Sarah Island

Sarah Island

A shipbuilding industry which produced 131 ships was established on the island. Convicts were employed in the shipbuilding industry. For a short period, it was the largest shipbuilding operation in the Australian colonies. Chained convicts had the task of cutting down Huon Pine trees and rafting the logs down the river. Eventually the heavily forested island was cleared by the convicts. A tall wall was then built along the windward side of the island to provide shelter for the shipyards from the roaring forties blowing up the harbour.
Sarah Island

Sarah Island


Sarah Island

Sarah Island


Sarah Island

Sarah Island


Sarah Island

Sarah Island


The Penitentiary, Sarah Island

The Penitentiary, Sarah Island

In the afternoon, we went for a drive down an 11km gravel road to see Macquarie Heads from the shore. Just around the Heads is Ocean Beach. Ocean Beach, at Strahan on the wild west coast of Tasmania, is the highest energy beach in Australia and has recorded the country’s biggest waves, averaging 3 metres. The biggest recorded wave here was over 21 metres. With its dangerous rips and sweeps, this is a beach to admire, not to swim at.
View from road down to Macquarie Heads

View from road down to Macquarie Heads


View from road down to Macquarie Heads

View from road down to Macquarie Heads


View from road down to Macquarie Heads

View from road down to Macquarie Heads


Panorama of Ocean Beach near Strahan

Panorama of Ocean Beach near Strahan


Ocean Beach, Strahan

Ocean Beach, Strahan


Ocean Beach, Strahan

Ocean Beach, Strahan

Late in the afternoon, we attended a performance of "The Ship That Never Was" in Strahan. The Round Earth Theatre Company, founded by Richard Davey, performs in Strahan, West Coast, Tasmania. Each night the company performs Australia's longest-running play, The Ship That Never Was. During the day the actors work as tour guides on Sarah Island explaining the history and unique story of this Tasmanian penal settlement. The play is built around the construction of the ship and ingeniously uses audience members including children to provide additional cast.
The Ship That never Was - Australia's longest running play

The Ship That never Was - Australia's longest running play


The Ship That never Was

The Ship That never Was

Wednesday was overcast as we packed up for our next destination, Queenstown then travelling on the Lyell Highway down to Hamilton. Queenstown is still a thriving mining community. The mountains around the town still show the scars of many decades of mining. The hillsides are still denuded of trees although some rehabilitation has taken place.
View from lookout near Queenstown

View from lookout near Queenstown


Road into Queenstown

Road into Queenstown


Railway Station Queenstown

Railway Station Queenstown


Railway Station Queenstown

Railway Station Queenstown


Lyell Highway east out of Queenstown

Lyell Highway east out of Queenstown

Our next stop was at Nelson Falls in the World Heritage Gordon-Franklin Wild Rivers National Park. These falls were a short 20 minute return trip off the road and were well worth the effort.
Nelson Falls

Nelson Falls


Nelson falls walk in

Nelson falls walk in


Nelson Falls

Nelson Falls


Nelson Falls

Nelson Falls

We called into Lake St Clair but decided not to stay overnight? The walks around the lake looked inviting apart from 9 degree Celsius temperatures in the middle of the day.
Lake St Clair, Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park

Lake St Clair, Cradle Mountain - Lake St Clair National Park


Lake St Clair, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park

Lake St Clair, Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park

Just to the east of Derwent Bridge is The Wall in the Wilderness. Primarily made from rare Huon pine, creator/designer Greg Duncan is carving 100 metres of Central Highland history. The Wall is being carved from three-metre high wooden panels is estimated to be complete by 2015. . The carved panels will tell the history of the harsh Central Highlands region - beginning with the indigenous people, then to the pioneering timber harvesters, pastoralists, miners and Hydro workers.
The Wall, Derwent Bridge

The Wall, Derwent Bridge

Further down the Lyell highway! We made a short stop at the Franklin River for a photo stop with Colleen beside the sign just as we did seven years ago when we visited Tassie.
Franklin River, Gordon-Franklin Wild Rivers National Park

Franklin River, Gordon-Franklin Wild Rivers National Park

We had another brief stop at Tarraleah to see the hydro electric Station on the Nive River and the associated plant in Tarraleah. this is a beautiful little town with park like gardens.
Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah

Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah


Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah

Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah


Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah

Nive River Hydro-Electric Station, Tarraleah

Our overnight stop was at the Hamilton Common. These campgrounds had a number of Queensland travellers. The grounds are provided by the council and have hot showers, laundry facilities and are situated beside the Clyde River. It was surprisingly cheap at $5 a night per vehicle.

Campground at Hamilton on banks of the Clyde River

Campground at Hamilton on banks of the Clyde River


Main Street, Hamilton

Main Street, Hamilton


1830 stone house, Hamilton

1830 stone house, Hamilton


Old Post Office, Hamilton

Old Post Office, Hamilton


Old Post Office circa 1835, Hamilton

Old Post Office circa 1835, Hamilton


Roses in Hamilton

Roses in Hamilton

Our last camp stop for the week was at Bothwell, the home of the first golf course in Australia.
Grazing country between Hamilton and Bothwell

Grazing country between Hamilton and Bothwell


Croaker's Alley, Bothwell

Croaker's Alley, Bothwell


Croaker's Alley, Bothwell

Croaker's Alley, Bothwell

We stayed at the council run Bothwell Camping and Caravan park. It was well set up with hot showers and free washer and dryer and only $15 per night. We had the place almost to ourselves. The grounds were behind the Australiasian Golf Museum (Bothwell had the first golf course in Australia) and is accommodated in the old school house. The building housed the two teacher school from 1887 to 1956.

Australiasian Golf Museum, Bothwell

Australiasian Golf Museum, Bothwell


Park across road from Bothwell Golf Museum

Park across road from Bothwell Golf Museum


stone house(1820S) in Market Street, Bothwell

stone house(1820S) in Market Street, Bothwell


Plaque commemorating first shipment of black cattle from Scotland in 1824, Bothwell

Plaque commemorating first shipment of black cattle from Scotland in 1824, Bothwell

Last night we had very generous Lamb Shanks and beef Schnitzel at the Castle Hotel, one of Australia's oldest hotels with a continuous licence since 1829.
Castle Hotel 1829 Bothwell

Castle Hotel 1829 Bothwell

This afternoon we drove out to the Nant Distillery. The property was settled in 1821 and buildings date from that year. The newer building that forms part of the restaurant dates from 1857.
Nant Distillery  - property settled 1821

Nant Distillery - property settled 1821


Nant Distillery - property settled 1821

Nant Distillery - property settled 1821


Nant Distillery - property settled 1821

Nant Distillery - property settled 1821


Nant Distillery restaurant - property settled 1821

Nant Distillery restaurant - property settled 1821


Nant Distillery - property settled 1821

Nant Distillery - property settled 1821

I recognised a Bentley parked in a shed at Nant. It was brought to Tasmania for Princess Mary's visit to Tasmania and was the vehicle used previously by GG Quentin Bryce.
image

image

In the morning we are travelling to Oatlands (about 80km north of Hobart on the Midland Highway) to have lunch with Kerry and Marie and then drive up to Launceston.

Posted by Kangatraveller 22:00 Archived in Australia Comments (0)

WEEK 7 - Launceston and Arthur River

Return to Launceston

sunny 25 °C

Sunday morning turned out to be a day of beautiful weather in Launceston. We left our camp at Chain of Lagoons the day before as we were running low on power and the weather had taken a turn for worse with constant showers and being cold and wet.

We were due to return to Launceston the day after as Colleen had a dental appointment on the Tuesday and we both wanted to help Paul with preparing his house for sale .A few solid days with "karchering" the house and pathways and being quite brutal in terms of culling excess furniture and the property looked a real treat.

We did have a little time to admire the many beautiful examples of early 1800s architecture around Launceston. Launceston is located on the beautiful Tamar River in northern Tasmania. It's the third oldest city in Australia and has retained much of it stunning architectural heritage.

Old terrace houses in St John Street

Old terrace houses in St John Street


old houses near St Vincents and church clock tower

old houses near St Vincents and church clock tower


Early 1800s St John Street, Launceston

Early 1800s St John Street, Launceston


1800s residences in St John Street, Launceston

1800s residences in St John Street, Launceston


1800s terrace houses in St John Street, Launceston

1800s terrace houses in St John Street, Launceston

Anaethetist - Dr William Pugh, first person to use anaesthetics in the Southern Hemisphere.

William Russ Pugh (1805-1897), medical practitioner, arrived in Hobart Town in the Derwent in December 1835, and reputedly walked soon after to Launceston, where the following May he married a fellow passenger Cornelia Ann, the daughter of G. A. Kirton, a London solicitor.

William Russ Pugh was credited with administering the first surgical anaesthetic in the southern hemisphere. Pugh received instruction in Edinburgh and Dublin, and in 1835 set up practice in Launceston. An enthusiastic experimenter, he produced coal gas to light his house, and the ether for his anaesthetics. On 7 June 1847 he performed two operations at St John's Hospital, removing a tumour from a woman's jaw and cataracts from a man, under ether anaesthesia. That day he wrote an account of the procedures for the Australian Medical Journal.
The picture below show Dr Pugh's former residence.

Anaethetist house in Launceston

Anaethetist house in Launceston

Boags Brewery

Boag's Brewery (J. Boag & Son) is an Australian brewery company founded in 1883 by James Boag and his son, also named James, in Launceston, Tasmania. It is now owned by Lion Nathan Ltd, a Trans-Tasman subsidiary company of Japanese beverage conglomerate, Kirin. All of the company's beers are produced in Launceston.

Boags Beer ad - Born in tasmania, raised all over Australia

Boags Beer ad - Born in tasmania, raised all over Australia


Boags Brewery, Launceston (2)

Boags Brewery, Launceston (2)


Sign on Boags Brewery, Launceston

Sign on Boags Brewery, Launceston


Customs House Mews now luxury units - Everything old is new again.

Customs House Mews now luxury units - Everything old is new again.

Old Post Office

The clock tower is one of the most photographed buildings in the city, and people spoke freely of their affection for it, and its importance to the city.
After the Launceston General Post Office was built in 1889, a group of residents formed The Launceston Clock and Chimes Committee in 1906 to raise funds to extend the tower's height, and install the clock and chimes.

Old Post Office

Old Post Office


Sculptures in Civic square, Launceston

Sculptures in Civic square, Launceston


Town Hall

Town Hall

Central Launceston has many old buildings, in particular bank buildings, which have been given a new lease of life as commercial premises.
Bank of NSW building 1817 (2)

Bank of NSW building 1817 (2)


former bank building with new lease of life in Launceston mall

former bank building with new lease of life in Launceston mall


Crown Milled Rolled Oats and Oatmeal

Crown Milled Rolled Oats and Oatmeal

Albert Hall and the Gatekeepers Cottage

The Albert Hall is a convention centre in Launceston, Tasmania in the style of high Victorian architecture, first opened as the main structure for the Tasmanian Industrial exhibition which ran from 25 November 1891 to 22 March 1892.
Albert Hall

Albert Hall

Next to Albert Hall is Kings Bridge Cottage which is nestled on the edge of a 200 million year old dolerite cliff, overlooking the South Esk River. The cottage was built in the 1890s to house the gatekeeper for the Reserve.
Gamekeepers Cottage in royal Albert Park

Gamekeepers Cottage in royal Albert Park

The Cataract Gorge Reserve covers 192 hectares and is an inspiring place for tourists, artists, nature lovers and the local community. More than 500,000 people visit the iconic location each year to swim, walk, kayak, dine and relax. It has an abundance of flora and fauna, with 25 threatened flora species and seven threatened fauna species. Amazingly, the Gorge is less than one kilometre from the city centre.

Launceston is located on the beautiful Tamar River in northern Tasmania. It's the third oldest city in Australia and has retained much of it stunning architectural heritage.

Inverisk Precinct

The Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery (QVMAG) has a part of the museum located at the Inveresk Precinct. Its other site is at Royal Park and when combined it becomes the largest museum in Australia located out of a capital city. It includes a working planetarium and displays related to Launceston's industrial environments and railway workshops.

Inveresk Precinct, Launceston

Inveresk Precinct, Launceston


Academy of the Arts, Inveresk

Academy of the Arts, Inveresk


Museum at Inveresk - ex Railway workshops

Museum at Inveresk - ex Railway workshops

Friday morning we had finished with tasks in Launceston. We headed north towards Devonport and stopped for an early lunch at the Bakery Café at Elizabeth Town.
Bakery Cafe at Elizabeth Town

Bakery Cafe at Elizabeth Town

We took the Bass highway west along the north coast to Burnie, Wynyard and Stanley. Table Cape is 5km west of Wynyard and is known for the rolling fields of tulips. We saw a few end of season tulips only but the view was worth the visit.
Tulips at Table Cape

Tulips at Table Cape


Panorama from Table Cape Lookout

Panorama from Table Cape Lookout


View from Table Cape

View from Table Cape


View from Table Cape

View from Table Cape


Lighthouse at Table Cape

Lighthouse at Table Cape


Panorama from Table Cape

Panorama from Table Cape

We shad a brief stop at Stanley to take some pictures of The Nut.
Stanley

Stanley


The Nut at Stanley

The Nut at Stanley

We looked at the weather forecasts and it seemed the west coast might have a few days of sunshine so we went to Smithton and then on to Arthur River. We planned to take the gravel road down through the Tarkine but this was not to be. There had been a landslip and the road will be closed for about five months.
The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River

The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River


The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River

The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River


The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River

The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River


Plaque at The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River

Plaque at The Edge of the World Lookout at Arthur River


North bank of the Arthur River

North bank of the Arthur River

We stayed at Peppermint Campground in Arthur River. This was a grassy sheltered place right in the middle of this township. We drove to the Edge of the World Lookout on the southern side of Arthur River. On Saturday morning we booked to take the river cruise on the MV George Robinson.
Peppermint Camp Ground, Arthur River

Peppermint Camp Ground, Arthur River


Mouth of the Arthur River

Mouth of the Arthur River


Arthur River

Arthur River


Arthur River, north western Tasmania

Arthur River, north western Tasmania

This morning (Saturday) has been an unbelievably beautiful day starting with a cool morning and some clouds and ending in brilliant sunshine in the mid twenties. We took the Arthur River cruise - five hours up the river including lunch in the Tarkine forest. The Arthur River is pristine as it has never been logged or dammed and the last hot fire to go through was 650 years ago. It is claimed that the Tarkins is the largest remaining Gondwana type forest left in the world.

The Arthur River is very rich in tannins and this brings out beautiful reflections on the mirror like surface.
Mouth of the Arthur River - never logged or dammed - last wild river in Tasmania

Mouth of the Arthur River - never logged or dammed - last wild river in Tasmania


Colleen ready to board the MV George Robinson - 5.5m boat designed on last century river boat

Colleen ready to board the MV George Robinson - 5.5m boat designed on last century river boat


Arthur River

Arthur River


Reflections on the Arthur River

Reflections on the Arthur River

The Tarkine - rainforest ferns Arthur River

The Tarkine - rainforest ferns Arthur River

The Tarkine - hardwoods are very slow to rot - may take hundreds of years

The Tarkine - hardwoods are very slow to rot - may take hundreds of years

Arthur River is rich in tannins that help reflect surrounding landscape

Arthur River is rich in tannins that help reflect surrounding landscape

Reflections on the Arthur River

Reflections on the Arthur River


Lunch camp BBQ - 14km up the Arthur River

Lunch camp BBQ - 14km up the Arthur River

Pademelon and Joey at our lunch camp 14km up the Arthur River

Pademelon and Joey at our lunch camp 14km up the Arthur River

White breasted sea eagle high up in tree

White breasted sea eagle high up in tree

Sea eagle  on the Arthur River

Sea eagle on the Arthur River

White breasted sea eagle seizing fish from the river

White breasted sea eagle seizing fish from the river

in the morning we plan to drive back up through Smithton and then to Burnis and down to the middle of the west coast to Strahan for a few days.

Posted by Kangatraveller 22:51 Archived in Australia Comments (0)

HEADING SOUTH

Brisbane to Melbourne via the Princes Highway

semi-overcast 8 °C

Tuesday 1 October saw us up early and on the road south. This was to be Day 1 of our four month trip to really get to see the beauty and splendour of Tasmania. Our plan was to take a leisurely trip down to Melbourne via the Princes Highway south of Sydney and arrive in Melbourne on Friday 18th October in time to catch the Spirit of Tasmania across to Devenport on the 19th October? our plan was to arrive on the morning of the 20th and to breakfast at Deloraine and then leave our Quantum off-road Caravan at the Treasure Island Caravan Park at South Launceston for a week while we caught up with my brother, Paul Curran, who resides on Launceston or "Lonnie" as it is known by the locals.

We really didn't have any plans except to stay with Paul for the first week then take off to the West coast, if the weather was clear! or go down the east coast if the weather wasn't being kind to us. We had a few other thoughts such as crossing the pieman river by ferry in the Tarkine forests of the North West and going to the End of the Road at Cockle Creek way south of Hobart. other ideas was to be in Launceston for Christmas and back in Hobart for the finish of the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.

So to start our journey we decided to take two days to bypass Sydney and arrive on the south coast of New South Wales. Our first night was a free camp at Coopernook State Forest which is north of Taree. We travelled 586 km that day and were pleased to arrive at an idyllic forest camp site with at least 20 other campers. The camp had pit toilets and little else.
Old stockyards at Coopernook

Old stockyards at Coopernook

We were on the road early to refuel at Taree and we ended up outside Bowral in the Southern highlands to camp at Mackey VC rest Area. This was a lovely setting but had the disadvantage of being close to the Illawarra Highway and constant traffic noise. The alternative was a camp site not too far away in the Belanglo State forest.

On Thursday morning we visited the Bradman Museum and International Cricket Centre. This is highly acclaimed attraction and rightly so. We enjoyed three hours or so in this remarkable museum before having a roadside lunch.
Information Board at the Bradman Museum and International Cricket Centre

Information Board at the Bradman Museum and International Cricket Centre

5

5

Bradman's childhood home at Bowral 1912-1924

Bradman's childhood home at Bowral 1912-1924


Later in the day we arrived at Kangaroo Valley at a very heavily patronised bush setting on the Kangaroo River. As it was the long weekend there were several hundred campers of all ages. We set up camp on the high ground and left soon after when some nearby young people started their loud doof doff music. As the campgrounds are set out along the River we found the perfect spot close to toilets and on high ground up from the River.
Campground at Kangaroo Valley

Campground at Kangaroo Valley

Kangaroo Valley Campground

Kangaroo Valley Campground

The campgrounds were home to a large number of wombats and kangaroos.
Wombat at Kangaroo Valley

Wombat at Kangaroo Valley

After our two night stay we travelled down to Shoalhaven to stay at a caravan park for three nights. This break allowed us to unhook the caravan and take a drive up the coast to Shell Harbour, Kiama and Gerrinong. This is a very green part of the state. There are magnificent beaches and a number of wineries.

We walked along the Main Street at Kiama up to see the Blow hole but it was not cooperating on the day? still, this place is a beautiful part of the world.
The Blow Hole at Kiama

The Blow Hole at Kiama

We are going to upload a new blog every week. Next Tuesday will see us somewhere around Lakes Entrance on the south eastern coast of Victoria.

Posted by Kangatraveller 03:05 Archived in Australia Comments (1)

(Entries 1 - 3 of 3) Page [1]